Review of Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

14 06 2013

I finished this book a couple days ago and it was fantastic!

“Before Peter Pan belonged to Wendy, he belonged to the girl with the crow feather in her hair. . . .

Fifteen-year-old Tiger Lily doesn’t believe in love stories or happy endings. Then she meets the alluring teenage Peter Pan in the forbidden woods of Neverland and immediately falls under his spell.

Peter is unlike anyone she’s ever known. Impetuous and brave, he both scares and enthralls her. As the leader of the Lost Boys, the most fearsome of Neverland’s inhabitants, Peter is an unthinkable match for Tiger Lily. Soon, she is risking everything—her family, her future—to be with him. When she is faced with marriage to a terrible man in her own tribe, she must choose between the life she’s always known and running away to an uncertain future with Peter.

With enemies threatening to tear them apart, the lovers seem doomed. But it’s the arrival of Wendy Darling, an English girl who’s everything Tiger Lily is not, that leads Tiger Lily to discover that the most dangerous enemies can live inside even the most loyal and loving heart.”(Description from Goodreads)

This book is by the New York Times bestselling author of the Peaches books (which I must admit I have not read). But if her other books are anything like Tiger Lily, I will definitely read them!

This book took a completely different look on the classic Peter Pan story. Told from the point of view of Tinker Bell, the book centers on the life of an abandoned indian girl named Tiger Lily adopted by the Shaman of the Sky People tribe, Tik Tok.

I normally don’t like stories told from a different characters point of view, but I found this book to be entirely unique and different. Every classical character from the original Peter Pan story was shown in a different, refreshing, light. The notorious Captain Hook was no more than a minor character who was either drunk or charming throughout the book. While his faithfil first mate, Smee, was far more dark and dubious.

Peter was a bit crazier and all the lost boys were much older with a wildness unlike anything Disney could have imagined. Tiger Lily herself was silent and strong, stronger than most of the braves in her tribe. I really enjoyed her character. Though Wendy’s appearance in the book was short, it made a large impact in Tiger Lily’s life. I found myself, who is typically a Wendy fan, actually dislike her.

The plot of the whole story was amazing. The whole book described Tiger Lily’s life from an early age until long after the main events of the book. I really felt for all the characters and by the end of it, I was just as upset as the main characters. Out of them all I think I sympathized most with Tinker Bell who was nothing more than a silent observer to all of the events unable to do anything to truly help them and mostly went unnoticed by the characters.

Honestly, there was nothing wrong with this book. I adored the story, the characters, and the inevitable heartache I knew was going to happen. I actually want to buy this book (I borrowed it from the library) and keep it for my own personal collection. I never do this unless the book has really stuck with me, which this one has.

I recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of the original story of Peter Pan or retellings of classic fairytales. Heck, even if they aren’t your typical reads, you should definitely check this book out! I promise this book will keep you glued to your seat until you finish it! 5 stars!
5star

tiger-lily

Support the author and buy the book wherever books are sold (or borrow it from your library).

Actions

Information

One response

14 06 2013
C

I have this one on my kindle for reading at a future date – glad it was a good read for you!

Leave a Reply

