Top Ten Tuesday~

2 07 2013

toptentuesday

Top Ten Most Intimidating Books (might be intimated by size, content, that everyone else loves it but you are sure you won’t etc)

War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy. This one is kind of a horror story for me. Long ago in my Senior year of High School, my AP English teacher made us read a new book each month and have 3 drafts about the book turned in at the end of the month. I took one look at War and Peace and cried. Needless to say, I spark notes-ed the crap out of the book and writing assignment.

Vanity Fair by William Makepeace Thackeray. Another horror story almost identical to the one above. I really did TRY to read it, but there was only so much time to read it. All of it. *shudders*

Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi. I loved Shatter Me, but all the hype and hate tweets sent by fans to Mafi has me terrified to read it. Supposedly something BIG happens on Chapter 62 and I am compeltely intimidated by it. What if I don’t like it? Until I get up the courage to read it (or the 3rd book comes out) it will remain on my bookshelf.

Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen. A dear friend of mine said I was going to enjoy this book, but I started reading it and immediatelly hated the wording. I’m hoping that if I give it another shot and fight through to the end, it will get better.

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein. I tried guys. I really tried. But I got so bored about 25 pages in and had to put it aside. I’m not big on a bunch of descriptions and I honestly don’t care about planes and stuff. I keep hearing how amazing this book is but I can’t get passed the weird way its written and all the boring details about planes.

Most YA Contemporary. I’m a HUGE fantasy reader. I like to escape the natural world and venture into other made up realms I can dream of. Most contemporary always makes me painfully aware of how real this could be. How it could happen to me, and honestly, half the time its a downer. Don’t get me wrong, there are some contemporary I really enjoy, but its definitely not my favorite genre.

Anything by Nicholas Sparks. This may be more along the lines of not liking the writer, but whatever. He pretty much writes the same love story over and over again. Almost all of them have a sad ending with a typical plot formula. He’s like the Stephen King of romance. Speaking of Stephen King:

Anything by Stephen King. I don’t like his writing style. I don’t like his descriptions. I don’t like his books. But I do like the movies based off his books. Far less boring.

I can’t really think of anything else, so here’s a polar bear:

polar walk

Actions

Information

5 responses

2 07 2013
books for a delicate eternity

I am intimidated by Nicholas Sparks, as well! 🙂

2 07 2013
keekeepie

Glad to know I’m not the only one!

2 07 2013
allodoxophobia

I think Nicholas Sparks writes like a third grader 🙂 good choices – interesting reason for not reading contemp.

2 07 2013
keekeepie

I agree! I even read somewhere that he didn’t believe in true love or something like th at. Umm…then why does he write about it?

11 07 2013
“Genuine” or “Random Reactions Re: a Book I Read” | Ever On Word

[…] later, I kid you not) AHA! It’s “Code Name Verity” by Elizabeth Wein! Thanks to this Top 10 Tuesday post over at Between The Lines for jogging my memory…even if Krystal only mentioned it to explain why it wasn’t her cup of […]

Leave a Reply

