Top Ten Tuesday~

9 07 2013

toptentuesday

Top Ten Best/Worst Movie Adaptations

WORST Movie Adaptations

Blood and Chocolate by Annette Curtis Klause. God, every time I think of the movie my blood boils. The only thing that was the same as the movie were the character’s names and the movie title. That sorry excuse for a movie adaptation is definitely the WORST I have ever seen. I wish it would burn in a corner somewhere and disappear so a PROPER and ACCURATE movie can be made that can give the book the justice it deserves.

How the Grinch Stole Christmas by Dr. Seuss. I loved the book as a child and the cartoon but that god awful Jim Carrey movie was so bad! Its fun if you want some cheap laughs, but as a movie adaptation, it was BAD.

The Cat in the Hat by Dr. Seuss. Hollywood really should stop making live action adaptations of Dr. Seuss’s books. Cat in the Hat was another terrible movie.

Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein by Mary Shelley. This 1994 adaptation starring Helen Boham Carter (also played the Red Queen in Alice in Wonderland & Bellatriz Lestrange in the Harry Potter franchise) is awful. It doesn’t hold strong to the original masterpiece that Shelley invisioned and I’m sure she would weep if she saw it now.

Twilight by Stephanie Meyers. The first one was bad. There was so much left out and random scenes inserted in that weren’t originally there. All you YA readers know how bad this one was. Admit it.

A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemoney Snicket. This movie was REALLY bad. They put too much comedy into the movie, tried to (unsuccessfully) add three books into one movie, AND put said book out of order. Complete garbage.

Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine. LOVED the book. One of my favorite books that I will actually reread. Movie was TERRIBLE. Plotline was all wrong, as was the villain and many of the characters. But I do like the fact that they sang Queen.

Okay Movie Adaptations

Rise of the Guardians by William Joyce. I really LOVED the movie. I actually watched it before reading The Guardians of Childhood books. That being said, the differences between the two were vast and deep, but at the heart, they more or less held the same meaning.

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. I’m talking about the 2005 version here. Again, LOVE the movie but the differences between the book and movie are kinda big. They’re both amazing entities on their own.

Howl’d Moving Castle by . Another movie I LOVE with a book I also LOVE but the two have some differences.

Good Movie Adaptations

All the Harry Potter Movies by J.K. Rowling. Does this even need explaining?

Actions

Information

3 responses

9 07 2013
deshipley

How the Grinch Stole Christmas = You’re right on target. Bad.

Twilight = The first film was handed so badly. Just awful. The others were varying levels of passable, but could have been so much better if they didn’t have that first installment dragging them down.

A Series of Unfortunate Events = A darn shame.

Pride and Prejudice = Wasn’t much impressed. The BBC’s version pleased me far more.

And you didn’t mention the Percy Jackson movie, but I cannot leave it unsaid: It was an atrocity. I’d thought they’d done the only decent thing left to do and slunk away without a sequel, but no, now they’re coming out with Part 2. Why, why, why, why, why? X(

9 07 2013
keekeepie

I never ready the Percy Jackson series, that’s why I didn’t put it on there!

10 07 2013
deshipley

I hope for your sake that you never saw the movie, either!

Leave a Reply

