Review of Across the Universe by Beth Revis

13 07 2013

across the universe Finished: July 7, 2013
Published: january 11, 2011 by Razorbill
Genre: Young Adult Scifi
POV: First person (switched between Amy & Elder)
Number of Pages: 398

A love out of time. A spaceship built of secrets and murder.

Seventeen-year-old Amy joins her parents as frozen cargo aboard the vast spaceship Godspeed and expects to awaken on a new planet, three hundred years in the future. Never could she have known that her frozen slumber would come to an end fifty years too soon and that she would be thrust into the brave new world of a spaceship that lives by its own rules.

Amy quickly realizes that her awakening was no mere computer malfunction. Someone-one of the few thousand inhabitants of the spaceship-tried to kill her. And if Amy doesn’t do something soon, her parents will be next.

Now Amy must race to unlock Godspeed’s hidden secrets. But out of her list of murder suspects, there’s only one who matters: Elder, the future leader of the ship and the love she could never have seen coming.” (Description from Goodreads)

review logo

I fell head over heels in love with this book! I’m always iffy on new series that I come across, especially the first book, because I thought it would be slow, but this book had me HOOKED. I’m not a big scifi reader (though I watch it. Yes, I’m a Trekky & a Whovian), but I found this whole book easy to understand. I wasn’t thrown technical terms or over done science words that would push me away from the book. In fact, I found everything Revis described easy to understand. She managed to describe a future world of amazing technology without giving me a headache (so yay!).

characters logo

Amy: I thought her character, of them all, was the most relaistic and relatable character. She wasn’t afraid to speak her mind when she knew the world she found herself in was wrong, and did everything she could to try and figure out what was really going on on Godspeed.

Elder: I enjoyed watching his character evolve from the slightly rebelious minion of Eldest to a strong leader. Of all the characters, his showed the greatest change and did the most growing up. He was born with the weight of the ship on his shoulders and he did all in his power to make sure he was ready for his seat of power to do what was right for the people on Godspeed.

Harley: When Harley wasn’t acting crazy, he was a very fun, caring character. I was actually kind of hoping he would get together with Amy (I know, I’m notorious for shipping couples that never get together). Of all the characters, I think Harley was my favorite. There was something haunting and tragic behind his cheeriness and once I found out, I really felt for the poor guy. Plus, he reminded me of Vincent from the Doctor Who episode Vincent and the Doctor.

Eldest: I didn’t like him. From the moment he was described until the very end of the book, I didn’t like him. I kept hoping someone would grow enough balls to poison him or something because the jerk needed to die. That being said, he obviously made a good villain for me to dislike him so much.

Doc: I’m on the fence with this character. At times I thought he was a nice guy just trying to survive, but at the same time, he had to be pretty dark to do the things he did.

Orion: I called him. The second I got a hint about him at the beginning of the book I knew who he was. It is really hard to surprise me with plots and character reveals (my family actually HATES watching movies with me because I can usually predict the ending before we even get half way through). So I knew he was who he was.

plot logo

I’m probably not the first to admit that I’m not a huge fan of the multiple POVs, unless they’re done right, but I believe Revis pulled this off beautifully. From the first page I was sucked into the story of Amy and her adventure in ice that ultimately led her to the dark secrets of Eldest and Godspeed. When it switched to Elder, the same thing happened. I loved following them both as they disccovered the truth and I will admit that Revis totally got me with the ending. I had no idea about the big twist/surprise and I’m glad. I get tired of figuring out plots before getting even half way through the book. This was a great refresher for me and the fact that I loved it and it was scifi just adds to the beauty of this book.

The romance wasn’t the center of the book, in fact, there wasn’t much at all, but what little there was really worked. It didn’t seem forced and the relationship at the end made me want to read more about what happens. The mystery revolving around the Godspeed and its dark secret kept me completely hooked.

final thoughts logo

This book was enchanting, set in a futuristic society in space. The mystery itself should be enough to get you to read this book. If not, then the whimsical way Beth Revis writes and the story defintiely will. I adored this book and recommend it to anyone who wants a different style of reading or for the scifi lovers. 5 out of 5 stars.

5star

Support the author and buy the book wherever books are sold (or borrow it from your library).

Actions

Information

3 responses

13 07 2013
books for a delicate eternity

Glad to hear you liked it 😀
Do you know that it’s a series?

13 07 2013
keekeepie

I had guessed. Though the book ended enough to be a stand alone. I loved it!

13 07 2013
books for a delicate eternity

I thought it was a standalone until this year (and I read it two years ago!). I was happy and content with the ending, but I am also interested in seeing how the author plays out the series.

Leave a Reply

