2013 Author Blitz: Guest Post by C.C. Hunter

19 07 2013

SummerAPButton

Hello everyone! Today I’ll be hosting a Guest Post courtesy of C.C. Hunter for the 2013 Summer Author Blitz hosted by Belle Whittington & Tabatha Perry.

Keep reading to find out how you could win one of C.C.’s Shadow Falls books!

cchunter_hatHere’s a little about C.C.: C.C. Hunter, a New York Times Bestseller, is an Alabama native, a multi-published writer, motivational speaker, and writing teacher. She currently hangs her hat in Texas and writes the USA Today best-selling young adult paranormal romance series, Shadow Falls, published by St. Martin’s Press/Griffin. When she’s not writing her young adult novels she working on her humorous romantic suspense novels for Grand Central that she writes under her real name, Christie Craig. Learn more at http://www.CCHunterBooks.com or http://www.christie-craig.com.

cc hunter guest post

Della storms into my imagination, standing in the corridor of my mind. In these visual interviews, I always see her backlit a silhouette of sass. And being Della, a spirited vamp, she’s always postured with attitude. You know the pose I’m talking about, don’t you? One hand on her hip, shoulders tight, and her head held back just a bit.

“What do you want this time? I’ve already been here once,” she asks.

“I know, but there’s this blogger asking for a character interview.”

“Duh, I’m not your only character,” she spouts off. “Why don’t you pick on someone else?”

“Yeah, but…well, you’re kind of special. I guess I should tell you something.”

“Tell me what?” she demands as she moves all the way inside and plops down on the comfy sofa I keep in my brain to do these interviews. I see her eyes moving around the room of my brain, searching for clues of what I’m writing about. She gazes at an old family album, I wonder if she recognizes it. Her eyes shift and land on a picture of a brown haired, bright green-eyes guy on my bulletin board.

“Who’s that?” she asked.

“Just someone I’m conjuring up,” I tell her. “Look, you know Chosen was the last book in Kylie’s story.”

“Yeah. You’re going to abandon us. We know that.”

“I’m not abandoning you,” I insist.

“It feels like it,” she said. “We know you’ve sold another series about other teens that have nothing to do with everyone here.”

“I have, but…well…my editor asked me to write another two or three books about Shadow Falls first.”

“Seriously?” She starts wiggling on the sofa. As strong as Della is, there is still this underlying vulnerability in her personality. “What’s Kylie gonna do now?” She looks back at the picture of the guy hanging on the wall. “Is he evil? I sense he might be evil. He…he looks a little familiar. Kylie could take him on easily.”

I ignore the question about the new guy. She’ll learn all about him soon enough. “Well, the thing is, this next book isn’t centered around Kylie.”

“What do you mean?” She sits up and rests her palms on her knees.

“Well, this one is gonna be someone else’s point of view. It will be Shadow Falls and all, but the narrator of the story won’t be Kylie.”

“You’re going to go into Burnett’s point of view?”

“No, this is young adult so the person has to be a young adult.” I paused. “It’s you Della, I’m going to write the books about you now.”

“Me? Why me?” She leaned back on the sofa, looking baffled.

“Because you are such a great character.” Hey, I’m not above flattery.

“I’m not great,” she says.

“You tell me you’re good at kicking ass,” I remind her.

She rolls her dark eyes. Eyes that just hint at her Asian heritage. While her hair, long, dark and straight, also gives the essence of her family tree, she really looks more exotic than she does Asian.

“Yeah,” Della says, “but that’s not…I’m not like Kylie.”

“You don’t have to be like Kylie. You just have to be yourself.”

She pauses as if to consider it. “But it would be like having people in my head all the time. I don’t think I’d like that.”

“You did it in Saved and Sunset,” I remind her.

“And some of that was embarrassing, too. I mean all those readers know what happened that night.”

“You mean what you and Steve did?” I ask.

“No, I mean about him having to fight all the flea-bitten were’s off because I couldn’t. That’s humiliating.”

“People loved the story. They love your wit. They love your honesty. Overall, readers love discovering about new characters.”

“I’m not new. I’ve been at Shadow Falls since the beginning. I was on the bus when Kylie got on it.”

“Yeah, but…there’s a lot about you that is a mystery. A lot of things you haven’t worked out. Readers love seeing fictional characters work out and overcome their problems, face their demons, become better and more adjusted. They want to know you better, Della. They want to understand how you think, and why you think that way. They want to care. Heck, they already care.”

She makes a face. “Please. I’m totally not into all that emotional crap.”

“Right.” I laugh because I see so much emotion in her. She cares, cares deeply. She’d die for any of her friends. And she’s strong. Strong in character and in body.

She frowns. “I’m not gonna start seeing ghosts am I?”

“I haven’t decided,” I told her.

“Oh, hell no, then. I can’t handle ghosts. Vampires don’t do ghosts. I’ll kick rouges’ asses. I’ll take on a stray werewolf. But I don’t do ghosts.”

“Burnett does ghosts,” I remind her.

“Yeah, but he’s like the only one. He’s some super vampire, or something. Holiday thinks it’s because he’s kin to those Native Americans who used to live here.”

“Then maybe you’re super, too. Or maybe it’s not just being related to someone that contributes to his abilities? Besides, if you did find out you had a connection to some ghosts, you know Kylie would help you.”

She shakes her head. “I’m pretty sure I’m not gonna like this.”

“It’ll be fine. I promise. I wouldn’t have chosen you if I didn’t think you would rock.”

“What’s going to happen?”

“You have a lot to learn about yourself, your family and your ability to love.”

“Oh, hell, I’m not gonna be making out with Steve again, am I?”

I just smile. “There’s a lot of surprises in store for you.”

“Oh, crap. I’m gonna suck at this.”

I watch her storm out. She’s not going to suck at this. She’s going to do just fine. For sure, she’s going to come up against some hard times and some difficult decisions, but she’ll do fine. She’s Della, after all. She’s my vamp with gumption.

I’m sure you’re all curious about the giveaway I mentioned earlier, right? Well, here’s how it is going down. The top giveaway is for US READERS ONLY and the second is for INTERNATIONAL READERS ONLY. This way we can be sure both a US reader and an International reader can win a fabulous prize. So enter below!

Winner of the US Readers Giveaway
Erin M.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Winner of the International Readers Giveaway
Dayna J.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Don’t forget to be around for the Twitter party TONIGHT at 7pm. Use the hashtag #2013SummerAuthorBlitz to join in on all the fun!

For more info. on the 2013 Summer Author Blitz or to find out where the next stop will be, head on over to Books & Broomsticks to get a full look at the schedule! Linky Link

Actions

Information

4 responses

19 07 2013
Belle Whittington

Such an awesome guest post! 🙂
~Belle

19 07 2013
bn100

Nice post

31 07 2013
almendra

wuahahahahah i love it !!!!!

31 07 2013
dayloro

Thank you so much! I absolutely love C.C. Hunters Shadow Falls series so I am so happy to have won!

Leave a Reply

