Review of The Swan Prince by Danielle Shipley

18 08 2013

Okay, so I know I’m a terrible friend for waiting some weeks before I could finally read this book, but I’m hoping this review will make up for it! As far as fantasy goes, this book was right up my alley!

swan-prince-cover-e-book Finished: August 18th, 2013
Published: May 31st 2013 by Ever On Word
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
POV: Third Person
Number of Pages: 178

“Catching her leg in a bear trap proves the least of Sula’s worries. Haunted by an enchanted monster from a past she dare not reveal, and hounded by the perilously perceptive young village doctor, Villem Deere, the headstrong girl of the woods gambles with fate by binding hers to that of Sigmund, the captivating orphan boy with mysterious nightly business of his own.

The Swan Prince
Book One of The Wilderhark Tales

~ ~

An enchantress’s curse turns a spoiled royal into a beast; a princess’s pricked finger places her under a hundred-year spell; bales of straw are spun as golden as the singing harp whisked down a giant beanstalk – all within sight of Wilderhark, the forest that’s seen it all.

You’ve heard the stories – of young men scaling rope-like braids to assist the tower-bound damsel; of gorgeous gowns appearing just in time for a midnight ball; of frog princes, and swan princes, and princes saved from drowning by maidens of the sea. Tales of magic. Tales of adventure. Most of all, tales of true love.

Once upon a time, you knew them as fairytales. Know them now as Wilderhark’s.”

review logo

Those of you who know me know I love twisted up fairy tales. I love books that send classic stories we know right on their heads and The Swan Prince was no exception! The story telling was beautiful and flowed with an elaborate writing style and yet managed to simplify itself enough so nothing flew over my head. I understood all aspects of this story and even managed to get a surprise of my own at the end (but more on that later).

characters logo

Sula: The main heroine of this story. I really enjoyed Sula as a character. She was secretive and honestly, a bit selfish which was a nice change from the selfless heroines I’ve grown accustomed to in fantasy (not that there is anything wrong with them). Her whole goal was to break the curse own her by any means necessary and she didn’t care how it happened so long as it did. I loved the hidden torment and the (somewhat) surprising twist of her curse. She was a fun spunky character with a mouth unlike any other’s in her world.

Sigmund: I liked Sigmund. He certainly wasn’t my favorite character, but I likes him all the same. He was a quiet guy and humble for a prince. The one thing I have to say about him though is the twist on his curse. DIDN’T SEE THAT COMING! (Seriously, it blew my mind).

Villum: My favorite (<3) character. Honestly, I thought he was an older guy until about half way through when I realized "Oops, he's actually a yummy piece of man meat!" After that I continuously drooled over him. He’s a smart guy, a doctor, and has a surprising secret of his own (which again was completely shocking and unexpected).

plot logo

This book, though short, was a real page turner! The story sucked me in from the first page and I found myself lost in its pages for some time. The world of Wilderhark was a stunning magical world filled with evil witches/enchantresses/sorceresses that had a grudge against royalty and enjoyed cursing them. It was fun to watch two three different storylines mingle into one big beautiful sad plot.

As for the romance aspect of the story (I know you’re all curious) I really enjoyed it. Certain people got together that I hadn’t expected and the one romance you expected to happen had an interesting twist of its own. It was a fun circle of confusion and fighting and love.

final thoughts logo

Filled with romance, mystery, dark secrets, magic spells, and a surprise twist ending I certainly did not see coming! Seriously, I screamed when I read it and immediately wrote Danielle an email about how devious she was! I HIGHLY recommend this book for fantasy lovers and twisted fairytale lovers! I’m giving it a 4 1/2 out of 5 because it was so short and because of that ending!

4 and a half stars

Support the author and buy the book wherever books are sold (or borrow it from your library).

Actions

Information

3 responses

18 08 2013
deshipley

I induced a scream?! YES! *punches air in the face, triumphant* Thank you for sharing your thoughts, Krystal; my day totally needed that like you don’t even know. (:

18 08 2013
keekeepie

I’m glad this made you happy! Thanks for writing such a great book!

19 08 2013
deshipley

I try. ^.^

Leave a Reply

