Review of The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

1 09 2013

Okay, I know I’m waaaay behind on reading this book, but I finally did and boy amd I glad!

The fault in our stars Finished: August , 2013
Published: January 10th 2012 by Dutton Books
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary
POV: First Person
Number of Pages: 313

“Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.”

review logo

This book definitely left me with a lot of mixed feelings. I’m not one who normally reads contemporary (The majority of what I read is fantasy), but I’m glad I chose to read this. I’ll admit I kind of saw the end coming partly because of the book My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult, but that didn’t make it any less painful. Like any book, the story had some weak points but overall I found it completely enthralling, incredibly realistic, and utterly heart breaking.

characters logo

Hazel: Our main character. A spunky, sarcastic, impossibly funny girl walking through life one step at a time. She may have lung cancer, but she doesn’t try to sugar coat anything. She accepts the reality of her situation, no matter how grim it may be, and lives out her life. I loved Hazel. She is everything I want in a heroine and so much more. Even on the doorway to death, she still manages to stay strong. I really respect her character.

Augustus (Gus): Gus is like that one boyfriend you had who was always sweet and funny and caring and almost perfect. He made me laugh, made me cry, made me wish he existed (minus the whole cancer part) No, even WITH the cancer part. He was perfect, which was his one fatal flaw. He was too perfect of a character. As much as I wish he actially existed, he doesn’t. But I love him anyways.

Isaac: Though somewhat of a minor character, I love the way his character portrayed the heartache part of the story. Because of his surgery, the girl he thought would love him forever pretty much threw him aside and left him to deal with it all on his own. I’ll admit that he was retty strong to keep going on after everything. he managed to stay strong until the end and I kind of hoped that he and Hazel would somehow get together.

Peter Van Houten: Ah, Mr. Van Houten. The douchebag of the book and the type of author none of us aspiring authors hope to become. Though he has his own reasons for being an asshole, I still found his character a bit of a surprise from all his correspondences with Hazel and Gus. But he had an important role to play in the story and I couldn’t be happier.

The Parents: I liked all the parents in this book. They weren’t too pushy or forced onto us but they weren’t none existant either. They played an important role and showed just how much they can suffer and still exists after the death of a child with cancer.

plot logo

The story took us through the ups and downs of the life of a cancer patient, all while throwing in bits and pieces of normalcy into it. There was love, loss, hapiness, sorrow, surprise, disgust, and just about everything else you could want in this story. The plot didn’t seem to ridiculous or boring and none of the scientific words were too far over my head. Green did a marvelous job describing and helping me to understand just what the characters were going through.

I read somewhere that he was even permitted to write in Amsterdam for a while (a location that the characters visit in the book) and I found his descriptions beautiful. I wouldn’t mind seeing the confetti flowing down from the iepen or elm trees. Though the ending/twist wasn’t very surprising, it was heartbreaking all the same. I remember tearing up on certain parts of the book and refusing to read on because I knew what was going to happen.

final thoughts logo

I thought that The Fault in Our Stars was a beautifully, if not tragic, piece of contemporary novel about the struggles or life and the realization of how short our mortality truly is. 4 1/2 out of 5 stars.

4 and a half stars

Support the author and buy the book wherever books are sold (or borrow it from your library).

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

