So long Sookie Stackhouse! Review of Dead Ever After by Charlaine Harris

12 09 2013

After 14 years of vampires, werewolves, faeries, and supes of all kinds, telepath sookie Stackhouse’s adventures has fnially come to an end. And I am sad to say that this ‘dead Ever After’ should have stayed dead.

dead ever after Finished: September 10th, 2013
Published: May 7th 2013 by Ace
Genre: Adult Paranormal Romance
POV: Mainly First Person with bits of Third Person
Number of Pages: 338

There are secrets in the town of Bon Temps, ones that threaten those closest to Sookie—and could destroy her heart…

Sookie Stackhouse finds it easy to turn down the request of former barmaid Arlene when she wants her job back at Merlotte’s. After all, Arlene tried to have Sookie killed. But her relationship with Eric Northman is not so clearcut. He and his vampires are keeping their distance…and a cold silence. And when Sookie learns the reason why, she is devastated.

Then a shocking murder rocks Bon Temps, and Sookie is arrested for the crime.

But the evidence against Sookie is weak, and she makes bail. Investigating the killing, she’ll learn that what passes for truth in Bon Temps is only a convenient lie. What passes for justice is more spilled blood. And what passes for love is never enough…”

review logo

I was really looking forward to this book. Sure, the last couple books have pissed me off, but I was SURE Sookie would get a good happily ever after filled with life and death battles, mystery, and a love that would conquer all. What I was expecting and what I actually got were two different things. Not only was this the same typical Sookie plotline (which I hoped would have changed in the last book), but the overall villains and love story were so typical and anti-climatic. I was really disappointed in this book.

characters logo

There are too many characters that make a half-assed appearance in this book as a kind of way to give them a ‘wrap-up’.

Sookie: I never thought she could piss me off more than she did in this book. Half the time she just kind of whined about Eric and Sam without really doing anything. The rest of the time she was clueless as to why someone was coming after her (I mean, come on! She had 13 books to make enemies, it should be obvious!) As if that wasn’t enough, she kept reminding the reader about her past relationships and complaining about her faerie enhanced garden. If I had my land blessed to be fertile, I would have been ecstatic! That’s less money I would have to pay for groceries! The bad ass Sookie I had grown to like seemed to completely disappear in this boo for a whinier, pining Sookie. If she would have just turned into a vampire, she would have been fine! Most of her loved ones are either dead or some type of part-supe themselves! Seriously, she was pretty bad.

Sam: I know he had just died and come back to life because of Sookie and her Cluviel Dor, but he was such a Debbie Dower. He made some really stupid choices in the book that forced him to alienate himself from Sookie. And on top of it all, he barely showed up when she was dealing with some difficult stuff (I know its because of a deal he made, but seriously! That shouldn‘t matter!). I’ve never been a real big Sam fan and he made that clear more than ever in this book.

Eric: I’ll be the first to admit that I am a die hard Eric fan, but I feel like he didn’t try hard enough in this book to keep Sookie. In fact, he was a total ass. I know he’s always been one, but he usually redeemed himself to Sookie one way or another. This time, however, he didn’t even try and that really irritated me.

All of Sookie’s Exs: Any normal woman knows that you want to get over your exs and never pine over them or want them to come knocking. But Sookie isn’t normal and neither or her exs. Not only did they all more or less come over whenever they felt like it (even though they were helping her) some made themselves at home at her place. I don’t know, but I fell like they all seemed too harmonious together. If I were in a room with my ex-boyfriend’s exs, I wouldn’t be so okay with it.

The so-called ‘villains’: The villains were pretty much people that Sookie had already defeated teaming together to try and get revenge on her. I won’t say who they are for all of you fortunate enough who have not read it yet. All I can say is that the hype was built up so much and then dropped to rock bottom in the most uninteresting action less conclusion ever.

Everyone else: We got a look at everyone else in Bon Temps who interacted with Sookie and got a bit of a wrap up for them all. It wasn’t great and all of it was not important at all. Just a bunch of uninteresting fluff to lengthen the book.

plot logo

I think I’ve said enough about how piss-poor the plot was, but I’ll expand a little more here.

It was your typical Sookie Stackhouse plotline. Mysterious enemy comes after Sookie. Sookie proceeds to try and figure it out for 95% of the book. Discovers the not so surprising villain that she should have figured out 200 pages prior. She gets kidnapped, tortured, or almost killed. Someone comes and saves her. End book.

Okay, there are the occasional steamy sex scenes here and there, but that is pretty much it. I’m sad to say that even those steamy sexes scenes barely made an appearance in this book. In fact, there was only one and it was hardly worth mentioning. In fact, there isn’t really much else worth mentioning. I didn’t like any of it, if I’m going to be completely honest.

final thoughts logo

I was really disappointed by this book. I was expecting some epic final conclusion to the magical life of Sookie Stackhouse, but what I received was anything but that. I give it 3 out of 5 Stars.
3 stars

Support the author and buy the book wherever books are sold (or borrow it from your library).

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

