5 Reasons I’m Excited for CRESS & the Lunar Insignia

20 10 2013

Hey all! So I know CRESS by Marissa Meyer is still a ways away (though I’ve seen ARCs floating around), but I thought I’d do a mini blog post on some of the things I’m looking forward to in the next book!

1. Cress: I read the first chapter when she had it available online and I absolutely LOVED it~! I mean, Cress is a genius trapped on a satellite orbiting Earth, forced to spy on everything that goes on in New Beijing and all of Earth! How cool is that? It is such an awesome twist on Rupunzel!

2. The return of Scarlet and Wolf: I really felt for these characters! I can’t wait to see where their relationship goes in the next book!

3. King Kai: Last time we saw Kai, he was in a bit of trouble with Levana and the Lunar Kingdom. I wonder what is going to happen to the devilishly handsome young King?

4. Cinder, Levana, and the whole Lunar invasion: If you’ve read SCARLET, you know of all the craziness that happened in Paris and New Beijing. For those of you who HAVE’NT read it, I won’t say anything to spoil it for you. Just that it is something I am looking forward to!

5. Captain Thorne: YES! I am a HUGE Captain Thorne fan. I loved EVERYTHING about him. He reminded me of Captain Jack Harkness from Doctor Who and I simply adored him! He is the one character I want to see more than any other!

What about you guys? What are YOU looking forward to most from CRESS?

By the way, I’m also entering Marissa Meyer’s Lunar Insignia Contest. Below is my own creation of how I think the Royal Insignia of Luna looks.

lunar symbol

The symbol at the top of the insignia that looks like a weird ‘H’ is actually a rune that means ‘Hail’. I chose to add a rune because I remembered how the Lunar ships all have runes on them. I colored it and the crescent moon below it yellow as a symbol of the shining moon. They are supposed to go together to say ‘Hail Luna’. (I also put the crescent moon as a nod to Sailor Moon, Marissa’s favorite anime!)

The eye below the ‘Hail’ rune symbolizes Levana’s watchful eye and her control over others with her power as well as illusions. I colored it with a silver sharpie to give it the flashy and unearthly beauty that the Lunars have with them.

Below the eye is a colorful circle that is a mix of purples, blues, and greys to signify space and royalty. I’ve read that purples are the color of royalty too, so that’s another reason I chose it as a color.

The two words on either side of the crescent moon are ‘Forma’ (Beauty) and ‘Virtute’ (Power) and are latin words. I placed them at the base of the insignia because I feel that they are the structual base that Luna was created from and what keeps them so powerful.

So that is my Lunar Insignia!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

